Sidewalk Sidewrite

Alabama screenplay

Winner: “Our Dirty Laundry” by Kimberly Tompkins
Runner-up: “Welcome Back” by Elizabeth Hagale

International screenplay

Winner: “1999” by Anthony Fernandez
Runner-up: “A Good Day’s Work” by Jess McCallum

The 2015 Sidewrite Short Screenplay Competition is OPEN NOW. Submit your short (15 pages or less) screenplay now, through partner_box



A division of the Sidewalk Film Festival started in 2004, Sidewrite’s mission is to discover and reward talented screenwriters in Alabama and around the world. The short screenplay competition aims to foster community amongst emerging writers and reinforce cinematic artistry locally. Sidewrite allows passionate writers to enhance their craft and receive recognition for their work and creativity


Best Overall Screenplay

The winner will receive $250

Cash Award Value: 250 U.S. Dollar

Best Alabama Screenplay

The winner will receive $250

Cash Award Value: 250 U.S. Dollar


  1. Sidewalk SideWrite is a short screenplay competition, a project of the Alabama Moving Image Association (AMIA).
  2. Screenplays are limited to 15 pages in length.
  3. Collaborative work is eligible, but each author must sign the entry form. The writers are responsible for the distribution of the contest prize(s).
  4. Multiple submissions are acceptable, but each screenplay MUST be submitted with a separate Entry Form and Entry Fee.
  5. The submitted screenplay may not invade or defame the rights of any person, living or dead.
  6. The submission must be original work. No adaptations will be accepted.
  7. The submission must not have been previously optioned, sold, or produced.
  8. Entering this contest will not limit your copyright in any way. You retain the rights to your original screenplay.
  9. Best Overall Screenplay and Best Alabama Screenplay will each receive $500 cash.
  10. All submissions must use 12 point Courier font and have no smaller than one inch margins.
  11. All submissions must have a title page containing: the title, author’s name, e-mail address, phone number. The author’s name shall not appear on any page but the title page.
  12. All submissions must be submitted in PDF format through WithoutABox.
  13. The Late Deadline entry fee for each submission is $25, or $20 for Alabama residents.
  14. Screenplays must be submitted no later than May 15, 2015.

Would you like to be a part of the local review committee (obviously you can’t serve in this capacity if you are entering the competition)? If so, click this link to complete the interest form.

The 2014 Finalists were:

Top 3 Alabama Screenplays:

“Fishing Trip” by Alan Moore: WINNER
“A Memory of Jane” by Jeremy Crowson
“Don’t Miss the Bus” by Kimberly Tompkins

Top 3 Overall Screenplays:

“The Importance of Sex Education” by L. Elizabeth Powers: WINNER
“Trimmed” by Stephen Dhondt
“You’re a Good Guy, Eli” by Cornelius Murphy

Previous Sidewrite Winners

2012 Sidewrite Jury Prize for Best Overall Screenplay- “She Will Be Mine” by Burleigh Smith
2012 Sidewrite Jury Prize for Best Alabama Screenplay- “The Five” by Cobey Cobb
2011 Sidewrite Jury Prize for Best Screenplay – “The Post Office” by Richard Hobley
2011 Sidewrite Alabama Screenwriter Prize – “Get Right” by Jeremy Burgess
2010 Sidewrite Jury Prize for Best Screenplay – “Mean Creek” by Dan Goforth
2009 SideWrite Grand Prize “Lost in Transmission” by Carl Edward Orr
2009 SideWrite Production Prize Winner: “The Burden” by Bill Barnett.
2008 Sidewrite short screenplay competition “A Good Man” by Stacey A. Davis
2008 SideWrite Production Prize Winner – “Waiting” screenplay by Mary Catherine Wendt
2007 Sidewrite First Prize for “Self Addressed” by Jim Pihakis
2007 Sidewrite Production Award for “Face Value” by Julie Pritt
2006 Sidewrite Grand Prize “When Standish Met Standoffish” by Daniel Ryan O’Donnell
2006 Sidewrite Production Prize “Pineville” by David A. Smith
2005 Sidewrite Grand Prize “Muckfuppet” by Kenn McCraken

Questions about Sidewrite should be directed to