Awards from Juries of Sidewalk & SHOUT

The following awards are presented by the competition juries of Sidewalk & SHOUT.

“Thunder Road” Directed By Jim Cummings

Jambor-Franklin Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature ($1000)

“América” Directed By Erick Stoll

Best Documentary Feature ($1000)

“Debris” Directed By Julio Ramos

Best Narrative Short ($500)

“The Driver is Red” Directed By Randall Christopher

Best Documentary Short ($500)

“FUNERAL” Directed By Leah Shore

Best Animated Short ($250)

“Bad Things” Directed By Mira K Lippold-Johnson

Kathryn Tucker Windham Storytelling Award ($1000)

“WRESTLE” Directed By Suzannah Herbert and Lauren Belfer

Alan Hunter Best Alabama Film ($500)

“Call Her Ganda” Directed By PJ Raval

Best SHOUT Feature Film ($500)

“POISON” Directed By Erica Eng

Best SHOUT Short Film ($250)

“Science Fair” Directed By Cristina Constantini and Darren Foster

Best Family Film

“Native” Directed By Isaiah Woods

Best Student Film ($250)

“Second Assault” Directed By Jillian Corsie and Amy Rosner

Seed&Spark Crowdfunding Award

Reel South Short Film Award


Indian Country by Troy Kelly

Sidewrite Best Feature Length Script ($500)

Cherry Glazed by Christine Sherwood

Sidewrite Best Short Script ($250)

June Block Hero by Seth Kojak

Sidewrite Best Alabama Script ($250)

Audience Awards

The following awards are Audience Awards.

“Mapplethorpe” Directed By Ondi Timoner

Best Narrative Feature ($250)

“Bathtubs Over Broadway” Directed By Dava Whisenant

Best Documentary Feature ($250)

“Undiscovered” Directed By Sara Litzenberger

Best Narrative Short ($150)

“Come and Take It” Directed By Ellen Spiro and PJ Raval

Best Documentary Short ($150)

“Icepick to the Moon” Directed By Skizz Cyzyk

Best Alabama Film ($250)

“Wild Nights with Emily” Directed By Madeleine Olnek

Best SHOUT Film ($250)

Progammer Awards

“Man on Fire” Directed By Joel Fendelman

Features Programmer's Award ($500)

“Woke” Directed By Kimberly Aleah

Shorts Programmer's Award ($250)

“Matter and Manner” Directed By Nigel DeFriez

SHOUT Programmer's Award

“Youth Unstoppable” Directed By Slater Jewell-Kemker

Best Life & Liberty Film ($250)

Jailen Young of WRESTLE

Spirit of Sidewalk Award

August 19-25, 2024

Sidewalk Film Festival

More info