Thanks to every sponsor, filmmaker, volunteer, and attendee who made Sidewalk 2017 a success! Congratulations to all of this year’s award winners.
Jury Awards
The following awards are presented by the competition juries of Sidewalk & SHOUT.
Jambor-Franklin Founders Award For Best Narrative Feature ($1000) — Are We Not Cats directed by Xander Robin
Best Narrative Short ($500) — “August” directed by Caitlyn Greene
Best Documentary Feature ($1000) — The New Radical directed by Adam Bhala Lough
Best Documentary Short sponsored By Baker Donelson ($500) — “All the Leaves Are Brown” directed by Daniel Robin
Best Animated Short Film ($250) — “Second to None” directed by Vincent Gallagher
Alan Hunter Award For Best Alabama Film ($500) — “Gardens of Red Dust” directed by Corey Carpenter and Maggie Patterson
Kathryn Tucker Windham Storytelling Award sponsored By The Family Of Kathryn Tucker Windham ($1000) — “Mutt” directed by Erin Sanger
Best Student Film sponsored By Media And Film Studies At Birmingham-Southern College ($250) — “Fry Day” directed by Laura Moss
Family Film Award — Into the Who Knows directed by Micah Barber
Best Life & Liberty Film sponsored By Jones & Hawley Law ($250) — Most Beautiful Island directed by Ana Asensio
Best SHOUT LGBTQ Film sponsored By The LGBTQ Fund ($500) — Alabama Bound directed by Lara Embry and Carolyn Sherer
Spirit Of Sidewalk Award — The General and Dan Koch of Splash Adventure
Features Programmers Award ($500) — Blame directed by Quinn Shephard
Shorts Programmers Award ($250) — “Shilo” directed by Tyler Russell
Best Crowdfunded Film Award sponsored By Seed&Spark — “Olde E” directed by Xavier Neal-Burgin
Audience Awards
The following awards are audience choice. Sponsored by Bham Now.
Best Narrative Feature ($250) — Dr. Brinks & Dr. Brinks directed by Josh Crockett
Best Documentary Feature sponsored By Urban Cookhouse ($250) — Charged: The Eduardo Garcia Story directed by Phillip Baribeau
Best Narrative Short sponsored By Alabama Professional Services ($150) — “Just, Go” directed by Pavel Gumennikov
Best Documentary Short ($150) — TIE: “First to Go: Story of the Katakoa Family” directed by Myles Matsuno and “A Good Blinder” by Mike Grundmann and Shaun Wright
Best Alabama Film sponsored By Forge ($250) — Alabama Bound directed by Lara Embry and Carolyn Sherer
Best SHOUT LGBTQ Film ($250) — Princess Cyd directed by Stephen Cone

August 19-25, 2024

Sidewalk Film Festival

More info